STO[we]KED!

Posted on Updated on

Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Up here in the North corner of the Green Mountains, we have befallen cool temperatures, and pretty heavy snowfall on the mountain tops. This is pretty exciting news to a bunch of ski shop bums (such as myself and co-workers) so after keeping close eyes on the weather and mountain web cams, we decided to go for a morning hike before work on Tuesday morning.

My alarm went off at 645, I was already awake. The excitement kept me up for a good portion of the night. Breakfast, coffee and out the door. I met up with three other guys from the shop in Richmond, and off to Stowe we went.

Getting out of the car at the base parking lot, I looked up to the snow-covered mountain and was hit with a fierce, cold wind. Winter wind. We bundled up and headed for the hill (Mount Mansfield, more appropriately). After a short amount of time, we all warmed right up. The snow was DEEP (not complaining) but for my short little legs, a work out and a half. In most places, we’re talking knee to waist deep in POW!

We were not alone in our trek. Hikers, folks skinning up, dogs, and people descending down the hill all around us. Everyone had a huge smile on their face and a frosty white cover.

It was motivation to keep moving each time we watched someone coming down the trail toward us. We would stop just to watch each person pass us by, each skier and rider clearly in pure ecstasy. I could not wait to get to the top. As we hiked up the mountain, an overwhelming feeling of being in my element, being outside bearing the elements, being one with nature, where humans all came from overtook me. Before I knew it we had made it to the top.

After a quick break, it was game time. The snow was as good as the people we had watched made it look. There was plenty of cover, plenty of fresh tracks and plenty of smiles. The powder standard has been set this winter, and it’s only November. I am indescribably excited to see what this winter will bring.

And it’s not just Stowe that is snow-covered. My home mountain (and where my heart lies) of Jay Peak also fared well in the powder department. Many of my friends have been hiking there this past week, and my buddy Andrew Lanoue, the Interactive Marketing Coordinator at Jay Peak created this amazing edit highlighting their joyous week. Enjoy!

Get after that powder soon! Get out there, be one with nature and earn your turns.

5 thoughts on “STO[we]KED!

    lrfitzgerald said:
    November 17, 2013 at 3:04 pm

    I’m not much of a skier or snowboarder, but this post was still pretty exciting! It’s about that time of the year where Facebook statuses are blowing up with people asking where to get the best deals on ski passes and who’s free to meet up on the slopes. That video was pretty sick too- maybe I should get myself to the mountain this season!

      sheboarder responded:
      November 18, 2013 at 11:36 pm

      Thanks! I had a great day out there. Can not wait to get out and do it again very soon. Its a great way to enjoy the long Vermont winters more than you could ever imagine.

    stephiejreese said:
    November 25, 2013 at 4:44 pm

    Reblogged this on Pedal and Paddle Vermont and commented:
    Snowbording is coming our way!! Green Mountains.

    fruityxl00pz said:
    November 25, 2013 at 5:53 pm

    Really awesome post. This weather must be your favorite! I am too much of a wimp to enjoy it.

    sheboarder responded:
    November 25, 2013 at 10:23 pm

    fruityxloopz, it is totally my favorite weather! can’t get enough of the snow, but the weather here can be very harsh most certainly. Bundling up a TON is usually a must up on the mountain!

Leave a Reply

